start | [startseite]

Dummy Load

50 Ohm RF load resistor

(by Matthias Franz, HB9EFY in May/2010)

German original available





Dummy Load

[01] 50Ohm Dummy Load
[01] 50Ohm Dummy Load
When building a RF QRP amplifier I required a 50 R dummy load.

The load resistor was made of 20 1 kOhm metal film resistors with a power rating of 2 Watt each. All resistors were soldered together in parallel connection which leads to a total resistance of 50 Ohm. The resistors were arranged in a circle and soldered between two epoxy boards. An empty 100 ml paint can was used as RF-proof case. From the edge of the top cover and the can body the varnish was removed. This should ensure a good ground connection between the 2 parts of the can when closing the top cover.

[02] load resistor and RF-proof metal can
[02] load resistor and RF-proof metal can

The next step was to drill a whole into the top cover and to solder the female BNC connector. The circuit board with the resistors were soldered to the inner side of the top cover and to the BNC connector by using 2 mm silver (cupper) wire. To cool the resistors machine oil was filled into the can. A little 1 mm whole drilled into the top cover and covered by a little piece of tape acts as safety valve. Do not fill too much oil into the can as it quite expands when getting warm.

When building the first version of this dummy load I had to learn that the BNC connector itself isn't quite leak proof which led to oil coming out of the connector. I'm sure you can imagine the mass having oil in the connectors of your measurement cables. I thereafter disassembled the dummy load again and insulated the connector by using a few drops of epoxide resin. Now the only whole is the little safety valve (DO NOT FORGET IT).
[03] 20x 1k metal film resistor
[03] 20x 1k metal film resistor
[04] "safety valvel"
[04] "safety valve"
The measured ohmic resistance is 50 R. As I do not have a reflection adaptor for my network tester I could not measure the reflection between 40 kHz and 150 Mhz yet. The wide-style assembly method I used for this load resistor is certainly not optimized for high frequencies. DIY projects from the internet usually using SMD resistors in this case.

Anyway, for home brewer shortwave pojects it should be fine.

Have fun
Matthias, HB9EFY

[ HB9EFY(at)yahoo.de ]



Source:

Reichelt.de:
- 1k 2Watt metal film resistor
- BNC connector

DIY store:
- paint can
- machine oil

Copyright:

Text, pictures and diagrams of the "
dummy load" - project are copyright protected by endorphino.de (Matthias Franz) in May 2010.

The following names:
Reichelt.de ®™,
are protected trade names and/or registered trademarks.

Usefull links:


Basics "dummy load":
Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dummy_load



Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional

Startseite | [start]

Dummy Load

50 Ohm RF Abschlusswiderstand

(von Matthias Franz, HB9EFY im Mai/2010)

English translation available





Dummy Load

[01] 50Ohm Dummy Load
[01] 50Ohm Dummy Load
Beim Aufbau einer QRP Endstufe benötigte ich zum Abgleich einen 50 Ohm Abschlusswiderstand (Dummy Load).

Zum Aufbau des Abschlusswiderstandes dienen 20 Metallfilmwiderstände mit jeweils 1 KOhm und jeweils 2 Watt Belastbarkeit. Alle Widerstände werden parallelgeschaltet, so dass sich ein Gesamtwiderstand von 50 Ohm ergibt. Die Widerstände sind kreisförmig zwischen 2 Epoxyd-Platinen verlötet. Als HF dichtes Gehäuse dient eine leere und gesäuberte (100 ml) Farbdose aus Metall. Sowohl der Rand am Deckel, sowie an der Dose wird bgeschmirgelt, damit beim Schliessen des Deckels ein guter Massekontakt besteht.

[02] Abschlusswiderstand und Gehäuse
[02] Abschlusswiderstand und Gehäuse
Die BNC Buchse wird mittig in den Deckel eingelötet. Über 2mm Silberdraht wird die Platine mit den Widerständen an den Deckel bzw. die BNC Buchse gelötet. Zur Kühlung wird die Dose mit Maschinenöl gefüllt, in das die Widerstände später eingetaucht werden. Ein kleines 1 mm Loch, was später mit einen kleinen Stück Klebeband verschlossen wird, dient als Sicherheitsventil. Das Öl dehnt sich beim Erwärmen nämlich nicht unerheblich aus.

Bei meinem ersten Versuch musste ich feststellen, dass die Teflonisolierung in einer BNC Buchse nur unzureichend verpresst ist und dadurch Öl aus der Buchse austreten kann. Die Sauerei, die sich dabei ergibt, kann sich jeder gewiss vorstellen. Ich habe den Dummy Load daraufhin nochmals zerlegt und die BNC Buchse mit Kunstharzkleber abgedichtet. Die einzige Öffnung ist nun die kleine Sicherheitsbohrung (NICHT VERGESSEN!).
[03] 20x 1k Metallfilm Widerstand
[03] 20x 1k Metallfilm Widerstand
[04] "Sicherheitsventil"
[04] "Sicherheitsventil"
Der Dummy Load hat einen gemessenen ohmischen Widerstand von 50 Ohm. In Ermangelung eines Reflexmesskopfes für meinen NTW, konnte ich die Reflexion im Bereich von 40 Khz bis 150 Mhz allerdings noch nicht ermitteln. Der geräumige Aufbau ist HF-technisch für höhere Frequenzen sicherlich nicht optimal. Selbstbauprojekte aus dem Internet benutzen für diesen Zweck üblicherweise SMD Widerstände.

Für den Kurzwellenbereich und im Hobby-Bereich sollte es aber ausreichend sein.

Viel Spaß beim Nachbau
Matthias, HB9EFY

[ HB9EFY(at)yahoo.de ]



Bezugsquellen:

Reichelt.de:
- 1k 2Watt Metallfilm-Widerstand
- BNC Buchse

Obi Baumarkt:
- Farbdose
- Maschinenöl

Rechteinhaber:

Text, Bilder und Graphiken des "Dummyload" - Projektes Copyright endorphino.de (Matthias Franz) im Mai 2010.

Die Bezeichnung:
Reichelt.de ®™,
Obi ®™,
sind geschützte Firmennamen und/oder Warenzeichen.

Nützliche Links:


Grundlagen "Ersatzlast":
Wikipedia: http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ersatzlast



Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional